Forum Index » Make Your Own Gear » Polycryo Strength Analysis

Display Avatars Sort By:
Dan Johnson
(Seattle)

Locale: PNW
Polycryo Strength Analysis on 02/12/2012 17:39:35 MST Print View

So after making my tarp out of this stuff I figure I better do some testing on it since not very many people have tried to use it as a tarp. Maybe they're smarter then me :)

The things I wanted to find out were mainly were:

1) What is the best type of tie-out?
2) How much Tape is needed on the tie-outs?
3) What is the tensil strength of this material?
4) How does this material act in stress loading?
5) How strong is the double sided tape provided in the box?

Please note that I am not a scientist but rather a very curious frugal person. Nothing I did is very scientific but it is better to have "some" data then no data at all. And of course I took lots of pictures!

All test smaples were about 3" wide and 20 something inches long. I first started out using a tie-out that I have on my tarp that I made. It's basically the tape folded over itself with a hole thru it. The tape used was Gorilla Glue Tape.

test

This tie-out ripped with pretty minimal effort. It still took a good pull but I thought it would have done better. This is what it looked like after.
test

I then tried a plastic washer sandwiched between the tape. This was an idea given to me by another member here and I'm sure happy I tired it out. Sure enough the plastic washer that measures 3/4" diameter worked like a charm. So well in fact that I used it exclusively on every test here after simply because it wouldn't rip out.
test