Forum Index » Food, Hydration, and Nutrition » Baking bread in campfire coals

Display Avatars Sort By:
Ben F
(tekhna) - F
Baking bread in campfire coals on 01/08/2012 18:19:09 MST Print View

Has anyone done this before? I had the opportunity to live with Bedouins in Jordan when I studied abroad, and they would make the most amazing bread of water, flour, and salt, and there must have been some kind of leavening in there that I missed. They'd bury the disk-shaped dough in the campfire coals, and then when it was done they'd just thwack all the ash off with a stick--it was amazing. I'd love to recreate it. I've done some looking in Arabic, asked around a bit on bread forums, but has anyone done anything like this before? I could just pack in pre-mixed flour/salt packets, maybe some yeast or sourdough starter, and then add water, bake.

Laurie Ann March
(Laurie_Ann) - F

Locale: Ontario, Canada
coals on 01/08/2012 19:12:42 MST Print View

While I haven't done it in the coals... I've heated a rock (don't use one from the water) and we've made flatbread on it. I sprinkle the flatbread with a little za'atar spice blend. I know people who've made pizza with the rock too. Only problem is that there isn't always a suitable rock. We've also baked bannock on a stick over the fire.

If you find out anything, I'd be interested. It would be fun to try.

Justin Baker
(justin_baker) - F

Locale: west coast best coast
Re: Baking bread in campfire coals on 01/08/2012 19:21:46 MST Print View

Yeah, they are called ash cakes. Haven't made them before, but I have seen people make them. They can get burnt pretty easily.

David K
(aviddk) - F

Locale: SW Oregon
Hot bread on 01/08/2012 20:25:24 MST Print View

Hot bread of any kind tastes great. No matter how it is prepared there is something indescribably delectable about it. My thing currently is New York Time's "no knead" made in a dutch oven. Obviously not a backpacking delicacy but nonetheless an amazing treat.