Lightweight Mountaineering Pack
Display Avatars Sort By:
Avery S
(Aveman)
Lightweight Mountaineering Pack on 12/14/2011 13:11:47 MST Print View

Hi,
I'm relatively new to BPL, and I'm less interested in getting my backpacking load under 20 lbs than I am getting my mountaineering load under 40 lbs. I currently use a Gregory Makalu Pro (69 L, 5 lb. 9 oz, minimalist but burly load hauler) and have carried up to 65 lbs in it. It's a great pack, but I'm not thrilled with the weight and I won't need it if I can get my load under 45 or 40 lbs. I've done a ton of searching for a new pack and so far I have the following on my list:

Cilogear 60 L worksack (4 lb, 3 oz)
Black Diamond Speed 55 (3 lb, 5 oz)
HMG porter (2 lb, 0 oz with stays)

I'm worried about the durability of the BD and HMG packs, and the weight of the Cilogear. I've looked at a lot of other bags and counted most out for one reason or another.

The bag I want would be 55-65 Liter, 3ish pounds, under $300, minimalist, durable, and carry 45 lbs without maiming me. Am I missing any standouts?

Diplomatic Mike
(MikefaeDundee)

Locale: Under a bush in Scotland
Crux on 12/14/2011 13:17:52 MST Print View

Have a look at CRUX in the UK.

Herb Tassin
(mfxdmx) - MLife

Locale: Southeast
Re: Lightweight Mountaineering Pack on 12/14/2011 14:45:39 MST Print View

Hi Avery,

If you're interested in selling that Makalu Pro, send me a PM. I might be interested.

Best regards,

-Herb

rOg w
(rOg_w) - F - M

Locale: rogwilmers.wordpress
deleted on 12/14/2011 15:10:44 MST Print View

deleted

Edited by rOg_w on 05/28/2012 17:01:17 MDT.

eric chan
(bearbreeder) - F
Re: Arcteryx Nozone 35/55/75 on 12/14/2011 15:27:13 MST Print View

did i miss something ... but there seems to be no ice axe loops on those new dead bird ...

now granted you dont NEED one ... but they are convenient for axe and tools ... and they dont weight much at all

Avery S
(Aveman)
Re: Arcteryx Nozone 35/55/75 on 12/14/2011 15:28:47 MST Print View