Forum Index » Chaff » Editorial on Occupy Wall Street

Display Avatars Sort By:
drowning in spam
(leaftye) - F

Locale: SoCal
Re: Re: Re: Changing the way money works on 01/12/2012 20:04:51 MST Print View

I'm still learning about the monetary system and ways to fix it, but I'd start by turning back time and separating investing from commercial banking. Then let investors sink or swim on their own merits. That means they don't get bailed out, doesn't give them access to the discount window and they are not permitted to restructure to eliminate 'toxic' debt. To prevent them from getting too big and having such great potential to devastate economies, limit their leverage to something like 20 instead of the 30-50+ that they had done in 2007.

James Castleberry
(Winterland76)
Our money = U.S. citizens money on 01/12/2012 20:47:22 MST Print View

Bob
Not referring to my own personal money. Aware of how much we U.S. citizens pay each year in interest to private banks (i.e. Federal Reserve) on the national debt? This is the "our money" I am talking about. Why should we pay billions of dollars in interest when we (we = all of us, Bob) can just issue the money ourselves. This is the goal of OWS - change our economic paradigm. The goal has been achieved to the extent that more people are becoming aware of what a fundamentally corrupt and dishonest monetary system we have. I will leave you with a quote from Andrew Skurka, which I think sums things up nicely: