Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Synthetic Quilt Guide
Display Avatars Sort By:
Chris Muthig
(cmuthig) - M

Locale: Georgia
Synthetic Quilt Guide on 11/15/2011 12:20:07 MST Print View

I just finished up a new synthetic quilt using some 5oz/yd Apex. It is just a flat quilt, with a drawcord footbox. I used breath 1.1oz ripstop nylon as the shell and liner and got a final weight of about 19.5 oz. It is a pretty easy project, but there really isn't much info online about how to make a synthetic quilt. So I put together a guide on how I went about doing it. I'm working on a way to add a head slit without compressing the insulation and will post that once I have something that works. I hope this can help some people. It is my first time putting something like this together, so I would really appreciate any comments on how I could make it better.

http://kringlelight.wordpress.com/2011/11/15/sin50/

whitenoise .
(whitenoise) - F
Thanks on 11/15/2011 13:07:58 MST Print View

Chris, this is very helpful, thanks for the post. I'm going to be sewing my quilt in the next couple days, using the exact same materials as you. I'm still debating whether to use a drawstring/velcro enclosure or to just sew it up. I see the flexibility of having a blanket if I want it, but I also like the idea of it being a little bit warmer without any drafts in the footbox...

Do you find that at 51" at the top, it's sufficient to tuck under your body a little bit when you're lying down? Or are you going to use some kind of strap attachment under your body?

Chris Muthig
(cmuthig) - M

Width on 11/15/2011 13:47:32 MST Print View