Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Do you play an instrument?
Display Avatars Sort By:
Evan Parker
(ecp12) - F

Locale: Upstate NY
Do you play an instrument? on 10/28/2011 12:05:29 MDT Print View

With the thread about punk rock lovin ULers, I figured I would ask whether or not anyone plays an instrument! Myself, I took piano lessons as a kid for about 10 years (I only have Fur Elise to show for it) and I've been playing guitar for about the past ten years, and recently started to sing while playing. James Taylor, Jim Croce, and Paul Simon provide plenty of inspiration while on electric Stevie Ray Vaughan seems to always come out.

Edit: i forgot I picked up a uke myself and I've always wanted to try the mandolin and the banjo, and I want to get a harmonica to really channel Bob Dylan!

Edited by ecp12 on 10/28/2011 12:50:49 MDT.

Clint Wayman
(cwayman1)

Locale: East Tennessee, US
Instruments on 10/28/2011 12:46:30 MDT Print View

Great thread idea =)!

I played trumpet for about 4 years and then switched to french horn/mellophone for the next 7 (3 of which while at the University of Tennessee-- I just graduated this past August)

In between, I've picked up guitar (but who hasn't, I guess) as well as the ukelele and enjoy goofin' off and singing improv.

-My gf plays the harmonica, so we're just a few steps away from havin' a folk duo =D!

EDIT to add the joys of castanets and vocal sound effects!

Edited by cwayman1 on 10/28/2011 12:48:13 MDT.

Doug I.
(idester) - MLife

Locale: MidAtlantic
Re: Do you play an instrument? on 10/28/2011 13:04:34 MDT Print View

Does the iPad count?

Travis Leanna
(T.L.) - MLife

Locale: Wisconsin
Re: Re: Do you play an instrument? on 10/28/2011 13:10:30 MDT Print View

Violin for 19 years. I teach privately and play in various organizations in the area.

Dale Wambaugh
(dwambaugh) - MLife

Locale: Pacific Northwest
Re: Do you play an instrument? on 10/28/2011 13:24:37 MDT Print View