Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Questions regarding all layers of clothing for the AT in may/June
Display Avatars Sort By:
Mark Larson
(mlarson) - MLife

Locale: Southeast USA
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Questions regarding all layers of clothing for the AT in may/June on 01/06/2007 21:37:45 MST Print View

Good luck with the Baseline. Those pockets would drive me crazy, and I like a much shorter length. I use plain running shorts (a la GoLite Marathon or similar) in combination with a basic pair of spandex boxer-briefs from Walmart. I forget the brand, but the spandex were about $8-12. They've gotten 800-900 miles (and counting). I also turned them inside-out for minimal seam exposure.

As far as the Liphe hat goes, I need to go ahead and stick my foot in my mouth because I've never used one before :) I just made baseless conjecture because they look tight-fitting. Your experience is worth more than mine. But a couple notes in favor of a larger knit cap: I like the looser fit for easier adjusting & ventilating, which makes them easy to use to make micro-adjustments when I'm on the move and still generating some heat. Easier to doff and don than gloves or a windshirt. That helps in the early morning and late evening hikes And there's also more fabric from top to bottom, which comes in handy to pull over my eyes to make some artificial darkness when I sleep. In those summer months it can be pretty bright out until 830-10pm.

To give you an idea of the temps. The warmest I got was in the high 80s, Fahrenheit; lowest I got was high 30s in the Smokies @ Icewater Springs shelter, and a couple in the low 40s in the Smokies and on Mt. Rogers in VA. Most of the time it was high 40s at night.

Got my fingers crossed that I'll be out there too, come summertime.
-Mark

Stephen Nelson
(stephenn6289) - F

Locale: Sunshine State