Forum Index » Mountaineering & Alpinism » Pyramids above treeline in the winter?

Display Avatars Sort By:
Zachary Arnold
(zrarnold) - F

Locale: Southern Spain
Pyramids above treeline in the winter? on 10/25/2011 03:12:07 MDT Print View

I have heard some conflicting information about pyramids. I am looking for the most light weight option for above treeline in the winter. I have never used a pyramid tent before. Usually the best option is a single wall tent. Some models can get pretty light but not as light as a pyramid. And the light models are extremely expensive.

How much wind can a pyramid take? I don't know if I would trust it for mountaineering, but around 1lb I would really really like to. Plus I can use it in the summer instead of my tarp if I want.

Does anyone have experience using a pyramid in full out winter above tree line conditions? Can they handle it? Would you trust your life with a pyramid over a single wall tent? How about set up? Can you set it up by yourself with heavy winds and gloves? Simplicity is a big issue for me.

I will be using it between 10,000 to 14,000 feet in the Sierra Nevada's here in Spain. Lots of dry snow but very hard winds during the winter.

Roger Caffin
(rcaffin) - BPL Staff - MLife

Locale: Wollemi & Kosciusko NPs, Europe
Re: Pyramids above treeline in the winter? on 10/25/2011 03:36:14 MDT Print View

IF the centre pole is strong enough, and IF the fabric is strong enough, then you only have 3 other things to worry about.

* The design is very dependent on *all* the stakes holding - all of them.
* The windward side can flatten down a bit, so guy lines at the mid0height are advised.
* You can get a bit of condensation in them as a top vent is tricky to do.

Me, for light-weight I would only use a double-skin tunnel tent at that altitude. A heavy geodesic dome works, but is heavy. The rest ... :-)

Cheers

Kai Larson
(KaiPL) - F

Locale: Colorado
Pyramid is great on 10/25/2011 09:24:39 MDT Print View