Forum Index » GEAR » Tarp Recommendations

Display Avatars Sort By:
Ernie Elkins
(EarthDweller)

Locale: North Carolina
Tarp Recommendations on 12/14/2006 09:07:13 MST Print View

I'm shopping for a tarp to combine with my new Vapr bivy, and I'm curious to see what others are using or would recommend.

I'll use the combo for solo trips in the NC/VA mountains in relatively mild, 3-season conditions. My trips tend to be short (2-3 days), and I can usually reschedule if the weather forecast looks unpleasant (lots of rain, etc.).

Since the bivy provides good protection from spray and bugs, I'm leaning toward something small (5x8?), simple (no beaks, etc.), and inexpensive (under $100). Nonetheless, since I'm somewhat new to tarp camping, I'd appreciate some suggestions from those of you with more experience.

Edited by EarthDweller on 12/14/2006 09:08:27 MST.

Daniel Goldenberg
(dag4643)

Locale: Pacific Northwet
Re: Tarp Recommendations on 12/14/2006 09:16:29 MST Print View

Hard to beat the Golite poncho tarp. Its only about $45. Durable material and of course it doubles as a poncho.

Mike Maurer
(maurer) - F - M

Locale: Oregon
Tarp research on 12/14/2006 09:32:23 MST Print View

You might want to start here - - http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/00174.html
Then add in your own thoughts on the tarps on this site, Gossamers' site and Mountain Laurel Designs' site.

Mike Maurer

Adam Rothermich
(aroth87) - F

Locale: Missouri Ozarks
Re: Tarp Recommendations on 12/14/2006 10:12:55 MST Print View

I have 2 MLD tarps and love them. Previously, Ron had 5x9 flat tarps (no catenary ridge) in silnylon ($55, 8 oz) and spinnaker ($90, 5.5 oz). He has closed down the site until January to hire some more workers and revise his product line. I would guess he will be offering similar products. The tarps I have are very well made and I love them. Ron seems like a nice guy and he is willing to modify gear he has on his site as well as make custom products.