Winter gear for southern Appalachia
Display Avatars Sort By:
Josh Platt
(EasternBox) - F

Locale: Southeast
Winter gear for southern Appalachia on 09/07/2011 07:36:15 MDT Print View

So, looks like I may be doing some winter hikes the mountains of NC and VA. I really haven't done anything like this before, as I usually stick to spring, summer, fall. So, I need help with the correct gear so I don't freeze.

Shoes? Shelter? Bag? Jacket? Pants?

Those are the main concerns I have. Help me!

Chris W
(simplespirit) - MLife

Locale: .
Re: Winter gear for southern Appalachia on 09/07/2011 07:48:57 MDT Print View

I had this dialed, when I was fat. Ever since I lost all of that, though, I'm having a hard time dialing it in again. I have a 15 degree WM Apache sleeping bag but that will soon be replaced with a 10ish degree quilt. For shelter, I have an MLD SpeedMid. I usually hike in softshell pants (Patagonia Simple Guide currently). Planning on getting a RAB Infinity Endurance for my winter torso insulation. Last year I used a First Ascent Downlight Hoodie (equiv of a MontBell Alpine Light Parka), and that wasn't enough in the lower temps.

Ken Bennett
(ken_bennett) - F

Locale: southeastern usa
Re: Winter gear for southern Appalachia on 09/07/2011 20:15:19 MDT Print View

I do a fair amount of winter hiking in NC and SW Virginia. Love it. Beautiful time to be out.

Let me preface this by saying the obvious: winter hiking can kill you. The margin for error is a lot smaller in winter, and just buying what's on this list and heading out to Mount Rogers in January without any experience might be bad for your health. Just sayin'. Best bet is to car camp and day hike at first, so you can bail to a hotel if you need to. Or start with shoulder-season trips, building on the experience you have. That's how I did it, anyway.

Bag: Western Mountaineering Antelope, 5-F.