Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
AT 2012 thru-hike list
Display Avatars Sort By:
Joseph Teodosio
(sparky227) - F
AT 2012 thru-hike list on 08/25/2011 19:57:31 MDT Print View

So I am new to this whole BPL craze and from what I originally had on my AT thru-hike list I have already shed 7 pounds off my original list, take a look at this list so far and see how I am doing. . .http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=4235

Edit: wasnt too sure on the sleeping bag, since price really isnt a factor and I dont have a budget any lighter and better suggestions would be great

Edited by sparky227 on 08/25/2011 20:20:51 MDT.

Chris Muthig
(cmuthig) - M

Locale: Georgia
Re: AT 2012 thru-hike list on 08/26/2011 07:12:24 MDT Print View

A couple of questions that I have and others may have as well: Are you going to be doing a north bound or south bound hike? When is your estimated start date? Is this hypothetical gear, or do you own it already? And by no budget, you mean no limit? (I'm jealous)

When and where you start could change what gear you need, especially for clothing and insulation.

As for the sleeping bag, you could go lighter by switching to a quilt, but it seems like what you have picked is pretty good.

As for the Kilo, are you absolutely set on a tent? Switching to a tarp of some sort, even something as spacious as a MLD Duomid or Zpacks' new Hexamid Solo Plus could save you some weight. If you are taking the Kilo, possibly leaving the footprint behind could save you half a pound.

Switch the nalgenes to two 1q powerade bottles or a couple of platypus bottles at about 1oz a piece.

If you don't already own the Zor full length, switching to the short Zor will cut a good deal off your weight. You can place your pack under your legs, or carry a small foam pad, like a GG thinlight, for the colder months that will only cost a couple of oz.