Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Touristy things to do in Portland Oregon
Display Avatars Sort By:
Bryce F.
(bster13) - MLife

Locale: Norwalk, CT
Touristy things to do in Portland Oregon on 08/01/2011 10:10:09 MDT Print View

Hello,

The GF and I are flying out Wednesday for a wedding in Portland. We are staying here:

http://tinyurl.com/427eqsk

She is an Art Director, and I am an IT Engineer...we're in our early 30s...ummm...we like cool stuff?

Any suggestions on things to do (non-hiking) for a few days? We'll have a rental car.

Thanks!

Bob Bankhead
(wandering_bob) - MLife

Locale: Oregon, USA
Re: Touristy things to do in Portland Oregon on 08/01/2011 10:27:22 MDT Print View

Tour the downtown microbreweries.

Drive out into the Columbia Gorge to see OR's 2nd most visited tourist attraction - Multnomah Falls. Take the old Colmbia River Scenic Highway (get off I-84 past Troutdale - there are signs at the exit). Go up to Vista House for the views; follow the histroic road past many lovely waterfalls all the way to Multnomah Falls.

Tour the microbreweries again.

Steven Paris
(saparisor) - M

Locale: Pacific Northwest
Touristy things to do in Portland Oregon on 08/01/2011 10:31:35 MDT Print View

Here's a few things to start with.

In the city:

Wander through Powell's Books and the adjacent Pearl District.

Wander around downtown, go to the food carts at 10th & Alder Street. There are food carts all over the city but this is the greatest concentration. Portland has a compact and very-walkable downtown. We also have great public transportation.

See the Rose Garden (free) in Washington Park and maybe the Japanese Garden (not free). Note: the arena where the Trail Blazers play is also called the Rose Garden. I'm talking about a real garden, with great views of Mt. Hood.

Go to NW Thurman Street and follow it to its end. Park and wander up Leif Erickson Drive, the main fire-road through Forest Park.