Forum Index » Food, Hydration, and Nutrition » JMT Hike Resupply

Display Avatars Sort By:
Jackson Parker
(jaxwithanx) - F
JMT Hike Resupply on 06/19/2011 23:58:33 MDT Print View

Hello! Next month I begin my first extended solo-thru hike on the JMT. I've never hiked any of California or for more than 5 days alone, so it should be an experience! I've used this website and members as a resource for everything (mostly forum searches) while getting ready and I look to y'all one last time for something that needs more personalized advice.

My hike will be 20 days (I'm a teacher, long summer and I want to take my time and not be worried about making miles). I'm at a pack weight of 14 pounds with no water or food right now, but I weigh a pretty lean 195lbs and if need be can lug around a good amount of weight at the pace I'm going. I'm having some trouble deciding on resupply points and food. While going slowly can have some advantages like I mentioned above. It can create some troubles when it comes to food carrying and supplying. Any suggestions, I'm open to hearing all, including actual food to bring.

I don't care the slightest about monotony in food, I somewhat prefer the standardization to be honest. So don't hesitate to throw out any suggestions of that nature. For example, I planned on eating pemmican I've made throughout the whole trip but have unfortunately eaten up most of the reserve I have and don't currently feel like/have the time to go through the process of making 20 days worth of pemmican. I like to keep it simple with meats, cheeses, starches and breads. I don't consume a lot of vegetables other than potatoes and corn(just being honest), I know, I know.

Thanks a ton, in advance, for any help or thoughts!

Manfred Kopisch
(Orienteering) - F
JMT Re-Supply strategy on 06/20/2011 08:58:56 MDT Print View

Hi Jackson,