Forum Index » General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion » Not THAT heavy

Display Avatars Sort By:
Dave U
(FamilyGuy) - F

Locale: Rockies
Not THAT heavy on 06/08/2011 11:37:57 MDT Print View

I think we should chip in and buy this fella a membership?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fzUNPiXsErY&feature=player_embedded

Matthew Hurdle
(mhurdle858) - M
Wow! on 06/08/2011 13:50:31 MDT Print View

I am relatively new to backpacking, but I am so grateful that I found this site early on. I've never had to experience anything like that.

Chris S
(csteutterman) - F

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area
Re: Not THAT heavy on 06/08/2011 14:00:03 MDT Print View

now that's how real men backpack! i love the part at 0:13 where it almost flew over his head. for a second there i was expecting him to put that other backpack on his front.

i like the suggestion in the first comment...."you´╗┐ need a larger backpack!"
or maybe less stuff?

drowning in spam
(leaftye) - F

Locale: SoCal
Re: Not THAT heavy on 06/08/2011 14:04:30 MDT Print View

It wasn't nearly as heavy as he made it out to be. My Dana Designs Astralplane loaded with 90 pounds has never come close to accidentally flying over my head.

Dave U
(FamilyGuy) - F

Locale: Rockies
Not THAT heavy on 06/08/2011 14:33:40 MDT Print View

I have easily flipped someone 200 pounds over my head in my Judo past. Shouldn't be that hard with a 90 pound pack....;)

drowning in spam
(leaftye) - F

Locale: SoCal
Re: Not THAT heavy on 06/08/2011 14:45:44 MDT Print View

I've done Judo too. If you're putting on a pack like you'd throw someone in Judo, you're really doing it wrong! Actually, one impressive thing I've seen is an ex-Israeli soldier throw my heavy pack over his head to put it on.

Nate Davis
(Knaight) - F

Locale: Western Massachusetts
Man... on 06/08/2011 15:38:50 MDT Print View

Those guys must really love the outdoors. I think if I did one of my first trips with that much weight, I might have been convinced to stick to dayhikes.