Locale: Montana
MYOG: Backpack Design on 06/07/2011 14:32:51 MDT Print View

Companion forum thread to:

MYOG: Backpack Design

Michael Davis
(mad777) - F

Locale: South Florida
Re: "MYOG: Backpack Design" on 06/07/2011 17:05:24 MDT Print View

Great article Luke! Nice pictures and diagrams helped your excellent narrative. This is very timely for me as I am just beginning the planning stage of making my first MYOG pack. Thanks for sharing your experience.

I wholeheartedly agree that a complete compression system and a pad sized for the backpack are critical to the comfort of a frameless pack.

Edited by mad777 on 06/07/2011 17:06:39 MDT.

Kathy Hoffman
(basecampbound)

Locale: Foothills of San Gabriel Mtns.
Awesome on 06/08/2011 11:08:38 MDT Print View

Great attention to detail. Will have to try this soon.

Kathleen B
(rosierabbit) - M

Locale: Pacific Northwest
MYOG: Backpack Design on 06/08/2011 12:37:17 MDT Print View

Thank you so much for this great article! The information on strap angle and the function of compression straps are particularly helpful. Excellent graphics, too. They've helped me understand what's going on with my "store-bought" packs and have given me the courage to try making my own.

John Donewar
(Newton) - MLife

Locale: Southeastern Louisiana
Re: "MYOG: Backpack Design" on 06/09/2011 05:04:02 MDT Print View

Hi Luke,

Ahh, the wisdom of experience! Isn't it amazing how much we learn from our mistakes?

So much of what you described in your article relates to my own MYOG pack building experiences.

I started out using the pattern and instructions from Jay's article. It was a very good place to start. It had a "nuts and bolts" air about it with plenty of pictures to explain to a visually oriented person like me what the text was telling me to do.