Forum Index » Gear Lists » Packing woes, suggestions

Display Avatars Sort By:
Sara Snow
(newtoallthis) - F
Packing woes, suggestions on 05/24/2011 18:23:19 MDT Print View

I need advice on what to pack—clothing wise now. The rest will come a bit later.
So, I’m new to backpacking. I’m studying abroad so the things I have really are limited. I’m visiting Paris-Koln-Berlin-Krakow-Prague. From late June-July. So not late summer but not cool spring.

Here’s the clothing I’ve packed:
One pair of jeans
One pair of jean-type things (kakhis?)
One pair of mesh shorts

One long sleeve wool shirt—not very hot, for cool weather
One heavy cotton shirt, cuts off before elbows
Two very light cotton shirts (less than a T-shirt)
One heavy nylon blend shirt, cuts off before elbows
One sports top to go with shorts.

One light leather jacket (I always wear this)
One sweater

One pair of tennis shoes
One pair of walkable ballet flats—I have nothing else that is broken in.

One bra
One sports bra

Two hiking socks, four pairs of other socks
Five pairs of underwear

Gloves
A mesh sports cap

I’m trying to negotiate warm days with cold Polish nights, as well in figure in my hiking trip. Yet am I taking too many shirts? The good thing about wool is that you hardly ever have to clean it—the odor just seems to disappear. I’ve gone three weeks without pulling out the baby shampoo and doing the deed in the sink. Not so with the nylon blend shirt, which takes a good night and day or so to dry out.
Also, is there a need for the “nice” shoes? I find reference to sandals, etc, but I don’t have those. My shoes aren’t nice but would fit in at a restaurant, church, club, etc more so than my tennis shoes.

Also, I’m taking two bras because I’m fairly chest heavy and don’t think a bone and me would mix on a hiking trip.

Brendan L
(mechB) - F

Locale: Washington DC
"Backpacking" on 05/24/2011 21:06:06 MDT Print View