Forum Index » Philosophy & Technique » I Got My Feet Wet!

Display Avatars Sort By:
Terri Wright
(ncalcamper) - F

Locale: SF Bay Area
I Got My Feet Wet! on 05/21/2011 08:03:48 MDT Print View

I've been hiking in trail runners for a few months, but yesterday was my first time try them with wet feet. They did dry out quickly, but I felt some friction on my toes on extreme down hill sections. The rest of the time they felt great. Bonus, no blisters when I got home!

Doug I.
(idester) - MLife

Locale: MidAtlantic
Re: I Got My Feet Wet! on 05/21/2011 16:19:00 MDT Print View

Welcome to the club!

Ken Thompson
(kthompson) - MLife

Locale: Behind the Redwood Curtain
Re: I Got My Feet Wet! on 05/21/2011 16:24:07 MDT Print View

And survived to tell the tale!

Roger Caffin
(rcaffin) - BPL Staff - MLife

Locale: Wollemi & Kosciusko NPs, Europe
Re: I Got My Feet Wet! on 05/21/2011 17:03:06 MDT Print View

> The rest of the time they felt great. Bonus, no blisters when I got home!

Yup.

Cheers

Brad Fisher
(wufpackfn) - M

Locale: NC/TN/VA Mountains
Re: Re: I Got My Feet Wet! on 05/22/2011 06:17:15 MDT Print View

Wish I knew the trick to making this work for me. I tried a month ago and ended up with two nice blisters on the outside of each heel.

Day 1: 14 miles + no streams = no blisters
Day 2: 19 miles + 3-4 streams = 2 nice blisters

Back to taking the shoes off for stream crossings.

Brad

Diplomatic Mike
(MikefaeDundee)

Locale: Under a bush in Scotland
Wet feet on 05/22/2011 06:29:31 MDT Print View

I think it's important to make sure your socks fit well. Most manufacturers have their socks in various size ranges. ie 8-10, 11-13, etc. Try to buy (wool) socks that are just big enough. Excess fabric can be a cause of friction/rubbing/blisters when wet. I often remove my socks for a single river crossing on a dry day. If it's a wet day, i don't bother.

Ike Jutkowitz
(Ike) - M

Locale: Central Michigan
My secret for no more blisters on 05/22/2011 10:41:27 MDT Print View