Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Learning how to use an ice axe
Display Avatars Sort By:
ROBERT TANGEN
(RobertM2S) - M

Locale: Lake Tahoe
Always start on knees? on 05/13/2011 20:33:33 MDT Print View

Re: "I teach a technique that works with or without crampons. You roll onto the axe with your knees bent and feet in the air, than actively pull-up on the axe shaft while leaning hard on the head. You stay in that position until you slow down to a very slow speed, than you forcefully kick your feet in for your final stop."
I'm no expert, but I've heard that once you start sliding down a steep snow slope, you can build up to rocket speed almost instantaneously, and I would guess that always starting on the knees has these problems:
1. The knees are slicker than boot toes.
2. You can't slam your knees into the slope with the same force that you can kick into the slope.
Hence, by always starting with the knees, you can speed out of control before you even start to slow down.

Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Locale: Silicon Valley
Re: Always start on knees? on 05/13/2011 20:44:23 MDT Print View

"I'm no expert, but I've heard that once you start sliding down a steep snow slope, you can build up to rocket speed almost instantaneously"

Yes. On some slopes, it is totally predictable, and on other slopes, totally unpredictable. The natural tendency is for there to be more fast ice up high, and then more slow snow down lower. So, once you have your speed judged up high, it decreases as you get lower. It lulls you into a false sense of security.

However, terrain features can leave one part of the slope shaded, so its surface texture is completely different from anything above or below. That can come as a huge surprise when you hit it and your speed suddenly increases.

--B.G.--

Brian Austin
(footeab) - F

Locale: Pacific Northwest
Re: Re: Learning how to use an ice axe on 05/13/2011 20:56:40 MDT Print View