Learning how to use an ice axe
Display Avatars Sort By:
Chris S
(csteutterman) - F

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area
Learning how to use an ice axe on 05/12/2011 16:02:18 MDT Print View

I have very little experience using an ice axe and crampons and was considering taking this class.

http://www.mtadventure.com/pages/mountaineering.html#crampon

Does anyone have any feedback on this class? Or other recommendations?

Jason Acker
(NWCLIMBER199) - F
Re: Learning how to use an ice axe on 05/12/2011 16:17:39 MDT Print View

Taking a class is never a bad idea. However if you are competent person you can probably do enough research to practice by yourself. Watch this video and find a good safe place to practice thats not too steep or where you wont run into trees or rocks.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LM3xLshmNnk

The basic rule with crampons is don't wear them unless you need to, you will know when you need to. Don't glissade or practice self arrest with crampons on.

drowning in spam
(leaftye) - F

Locale: SoCal
Re: Re: Learning how to use an ice axe on 05/12/2011 16:48:12 MDT Print View

What do you mean don't practice self arresting with crampons on? If they're going to be used elsewhere, they should definitely be practiced with first, and should most definitely have extra precautions made in case something goes wrong.

Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Locale: Silicon Valley
Re: Learning how to use an ice axe on 05/12/2011 16:48:18 MDT Print View