Link .
(annapurna) - MLife
Re: No more definitions then :) on 05/01/2011 17:47:01 MDT Print View

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwko3ir8wdQ&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

Mat Tallman
(wehtaM) - F

Locale: Midwest
Re: Nooobie question on 05/01/2011 17:53:05 MDT Print View

"I'm relatively new to this light weight backpacking and I'm curious about who would have the "authority" to set these definitions? Is there some sort of organization? I have been backpacking for nearly 40 years and what has always attracted me to it is that I am only competing with myself. I say HYOH."

Exactly, there are no consensus definitions on these things, nor (do I believe) should there be, short of setting yourself a goal for base weight to see if you can meet it. Using it as a bragging right, as is often done, seems silly and arbitrary to me. If 15 pounds of gear yields a rewarding experience for you, great. If 5 pounds flips your skirt, run with it. Not sure why, as human beings, we can never be satisfied with something unless we have a means of labeling it.

As you said, hike your own hike.

James Neal
(Laien) - F

Locale: Ozarks
Good enough on 05/01/2011 17:59:06 MDT Print View

Thanks, Bob. I apologize for the rabbit chasing.

I have to say that I have learned a lot in a short time here and spent a lot of money. However, my trips are much more enjoyable now that I don't feel like a pack mule.

I agree. IMHO I think there are already enough rules out there as it is.

Edited by Laien on 05/01/2011 18:06:23 MDT.

Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Locale: Silicon Valley
Re: Good enough on 05/01/2011 18:20:10 MDT Print View

"I apologize for the rabbit chasing."

You can chase rabbits all you want. I prefer to play dead like a limp leaf and let the rabbits come to me.

--B.G.--

b willi jones
(mrjones) - F

Locale: best place in the world !?
Re: Fastpacking Gear on 05/01/2011 18:29:10 MDT Print View