Forum Index » GEAR » Bear bag system for Oregon/SW Washington areas

Display Avatars Sort By:
Andrew Applegate
(andrewpdx) - F
Bear bag system for Oregon/SW Washington areas on 04/25/2011 16:59:07 MDT Print View

I'm in the market for a bear bagging system and am looking for recommendations.

Most of my time is spent in the PNW (not bear country like Rainier or the Olympic penninsula - for those spots, I'll just rent a canister).

I'm having a tough time deciding between the Ursack, Ursack Minor, and a cuben bear bag set-up. I like the Ursack minor option the best (lightweight, no throwing involved), but I'm wondering if this is sufficient for the PNW?

I'm kind of new to this and I'm not sure if I'm being overly or underly paranoid about bears. Anyone spend a fair amount of time in Oregon/SW Washington and have any advice on keeping my food out of the hands of bears and other critters?

Thanks.

Kyle Meyer
(kylemeyer) - M

Locale: Portland, OR
Re: Bear bag system for Oregon/SW Washington areas on 04/25/2011 17:56:36 MDT Print View

Don't buy a system. Use an existing stuff/dry sack from your sleeping bag or tent/tarp, buy some spectra cord and a tiny, non-load-bearing carabiner and watch a video on the PCT method.

Mary R
(pietimer) - MLife
Bear bags on 04/25/2011 19:49:16 MDT Print View

I'm with Kyle on this. I don't have any experience backpacking in the NW, but I've done lots of backpacking in bear areas. I don't use one of my sleeping bag or tent stuff sacks though. I bring a dedicated food bag (which is just a dry bag) and some nylon rope.

I never liked the idea of my food and my sleeping bag sharing containers. Maybe I'm just too paranoid though.

Edited by pietimer on 04/25/2011 20:04:34 MDT.

Todd Taylor
(texasbb) - F

Locale: Pacific Northwest
Ursacks are fine on 04/25/2011 19:55:56 MDT Print View