A new amalgamation of pack designs I just finished sewing
Display Avatars Sort By:
Terry Trimble
(socal-nomad) - F

Locale: North San Diego county
A new amalgamation of pack designs I just finished sewing on 04/11/2011 20:02:23 MDT Print View

I just finished sewing a new back pack it about 50 plus liters is heavy duty ultra light with ridgerest back pad and strap pads.
The inspiration for this pack design was my favorite Lowe Alpine airzone 45 pack shape at first I tried to incorporate the air zone back but it did not work out. Golite pinnacle hip belt system,Shoulder strap attachment and roll top of Six moon design swift pack. My own simple side compression design using one beastdee D ring and shock cord hardware and a cord lock from the evil bag of 1000 cord locks I have been using since 1993.

The pack will hold a Ridgerest solar short as a virtual frame and plenty of room for all my gear,food and more.

It is made out of xpac, grey dyeemna grid x from thru hiker. Heavy duty Mesh front pocket,1.9 coated black ripstop nylon. I did some different things on this one

I used a Xpac on the double bottom, The sewn in vertical center stringer for the pack that hooks in to the top center compression strap. Shoulder pads double fabric so I could bartack.

The rest of the pack is dyeemna grid x . Except the roll top black 1.9 rip stop nylon,I cut the top 5/8" compression strap off the my Golite pinnacle pack so I could use my 5/8 inch jet series buckles that I received as a sample from nexus.I also borrowed for now the Golite pack the sternum strap for the pack.

Thanks for looking,
Terry

Front of pack:front of pack

Side of pack:side of pack

Back of pack:back of pack

Edited by socal-nomad on 04/11/2011 20:17:07 MDT.

todd harper
(funnymoney) - MLife

Locale: Sunshine State
Re: A new amalgamation of pack designs I just finished sewing on 04/11/2011 20:14:00 MDT Print View

What a fine way to bring the things you like together - in one clean package!