Forum Index » GEAR » Cheap Down Jacket

Display Avatars Sort By:
Cameron Melvin
(cameronm99) - F

Locale: Colorado Front Range
Cheap Down Jacket on 04/05/2011 14:08:54 MDT Print View

I'm a newbie and don't have a bunch of money to blow on gear. However, the Big 5 close to my home has a 550-fill down jacket that I can get for under $60. The question is: Is this worth the money, or should I wait and find a deal on something better>

Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Locale: Silicon Valley
Re: Cheap Down Jacket on 04/05/2011 14:13:08 MDT Print View

Cameron, one of the standard questions that you will get is "How much does it weigh?"

I suspect that you didn't carry a scale to the store to weigh it.

If I had to guess, I would say that a down jacket like that is going to be considerably heavier than a really high quality, expensive, high fill power down jacket. That is not to say that it is no good.

A down jacket was all that I had on my first trip up a serious mountain, and it kept me alive.

--B.G.--

Cameron Melvin
(cameronm99) - F

Locale: Colorado Front Range
Re: Re: Cheap Down Jacket on 04/05/2011 14:27:52 MDT Print View

Hey Bob. Thanks for the response. No, I didn't take a scale into the store with me, but based on feel, it weighs significantly less than my current jacket which weighs about 20 oz. I wish I could afford a nice jacket, but I have 5 kids and live on a military budget so I either get what I can afford or use what I have.

Edited by cameronm99 on 04/05/2011 14:29:20 MDT.

Kevin Cody
(codycolor2) - F

Locale: Los Padres NF
Budget? on 04/05/2011 14:31:03 MDT Print View

I don't know your budget but I posted earlier that you might want to check out for some Montbell products 3 of which are down jackets for a reasonable price.

http://www.gearzone.com/montbell-s/445.htm

todd harper
(funnymoney) - MLife

Locale: Sunshine State
Re: Cheap Down Jacket on 04/05/2011 14:32:07 MDT Print View