Forum Index » Make Your Own Gear » Pyramid tent poles - buckling, stresses, shock absorbtion

Display Avatars Sort By:
Elliott Wolin
(ewolin) - MLife

Locale: Hampton Roads, Virginia
Pyramid tent poles - buckling, stresses, shock absorbtion on 03/10/2011 11:10:29 MST Print View

I am building an 11' square pyramid tent and am going around in circles concerning designing the pole (nominally 90", but maybe as long as 102" to raise the pyramid for extra ventilation), probably since I've never used a pyramid tent before. Engineers or pyramid tent owners, please advise:

At first I thought that avoiding buckling was the main concern. Thus simply choosing a pole with the most material (aluminum) at the largest radius (actually one with the largest moment of inertia) would be best (for a given pole weight, of course).

Then I decided that buckling not only was not a primary concern, but that buckling was actually desirable. Under wind load the upwind tent wall would tend to flatten. If the pole buckled a bit it would allow the tent to spill wind more effectively, and would act as a shock absorber for sudden gusts, springing back when the wind load lessened. If it didn't buckle and bend a little the increased stresses in the wall fabric might lead to fabric failure. Now pole tensile strength becomes paramount. Also, smaller moments of inertia would allow the pole to bend more and be a better spring, but allowing too much bending might cause the pole to snap.

Finally I considered intermediate guys or stays. Adding guys to the center of the pole will stiffen it dramatically, but might increase fabric stresses under wind load. Maybe loose guys are the answer, rigged in such a was as to only take effect when the center of the pole bends beyond a certain amount, limiting the bend to that amount.

(I won't describe my forays into alternate materials, fiberglass and carbon fiber...)

The above is a clear case of over-analysis leading to analysis-paralysis!