Forum Index » Make Your Own Gear » Insulation help for myog synthetic quilt

Display Avatars Sort By:
Michael Fleming
(GiganticMermaid) - F

Locale: Great Smoky Mountains
Insulation help for myog synthetic quilt on 01/28/2011 19:52:19 MST Print View

Ok, so I'm wanting to make my own synthetic quilt for an early start on the AT. I've searched and read many threads on here and I am still not sure on whether to get 6oz or 9.4oz Climashield from OWF. Currently I have a 30 degree down bag which I love, but it will not be warm enough for me with my mid march start on the AT. Has anyone made a quilt/bag with either 6oz or 9.4oz climashield and have a general idea on the warmth rating? I know ratings are different for different people, but I just want a general idea. I'm looking for something that would be good for >20. I want to be toasty, Thanks.

Edit: Grammar

Edited by GiganticMermaid on 01/28/2011 19:52:50 MST.

Robert Coleman
(jbo_c) - F
6oz won't do(for me) on 01/28/2011 20:15:08 MST Print View

I have a DIY made with 5oz(they used to carry) and it will only get me comfortably into the high 40s. I have spent a cold night in the high 30s in it. For me, it would have to be the 9oz - and probably all my clothes.

I'm kind of a middle of the road sleeper. I'm not a warm sleeper, but I don't think I'm an especially cold sleeper either.

Jbo

PS I recommend not quilting it and only sewing into the side seams. I've made them both ways and won't bother quilting anymore.

Edited by jbo_c on 01/28/2011 20:19:15 MST.

Robert Coleman
(jbo_c) - F
Liner? on 01/28/2011 20:18:04 MST Print View

Have you considered just using a liner in the 30 degree bag? Just a thought.

Good luck.

Jbo

Michael Fleming
(GiganticMermaid) - F

Re: Liner? on 01/28/2011 20:24:21 MST Print View