Best Sierra Hike in 7 days.
Display Avatars Sort By:
Dj Riddle
(Dj3452) - F

Locale: Smokies
Best Sierra Hike in 7 days. on 01/13/2011 11:08:46 MST Print View

Hello, I am new to backpacking,currently live in Knoxville and will be trekking numerous outings in the Smokies this year. My brother and I want to spend a week out west. We will be out there for about 9 days. Does anyone have any good itinerarie ideas? We could split in to 2 trips over the week. Any ideas would be great, this will be sometime next summer, but we are trying to plan ahead. Thanks!

Hiking Malto
(gg-man) - F
JMT Lite on 01/13/2011 11:20:25 MST Print View

If you want the "best of the best" (IMHO) I would hike the JMT between Muir Trail Ranch and Whitney. Challenge would be getting transport between the Start and Finish. One option may be to start at Lake Sabrina and head over Piute Pass and pick up the JMT at Piute Canyon (near MTR) Head south as far as you want, several options depending on your daily mileage. You could head all the to Whitney or bail at the Onion Valley TH near Independence. There are several other options as well. When done you would have to hitch a ride down to 395 and there are buses that run up the Owens Valley.

This is likely some of the best terrain in the Sierras. Another 7 day option would be the 168mile Tahoe Rim Trail. If that mileage is too high you could cut off one of the segments and take a bus as needed to complete the loop.

Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Locale: Silicon Valley
Re: JMT Lite on 01/13/2011 12:44:24 MST Print View

"One option may be to start at Lake Sabrina and head over Piute Pass and pick up the JMT at Piute Canyon (near MTR)"

A similar alternative is to start near Lake Sabrina at South Lake, head over Bishop Pass, and pick up the JMT in LeConte Canyon.

--B.G.--

Dirk Rabdau
(dirk9827) - F

Locale: Pacific Northwest
+1 Greg and Bob on 01/13/2011 13:05:55 MST Print View

That is one great stretch of one great trail

Dan Magdoff