Forum Index » GEAR » Solar Panels??

Display Avatars Sort By:
Dug Shelby
(Pittsburgh) - F

Locale: Bay Area
Simple answer on 01/02/2011 00:38:49 MST Print View

I've been researching this for several months myself. This is what I've found, ymmv:

Solio makes a little charger that actually has a caribiner top, intended to be clipped onto a backpack/etc. It's called the "Rocster." reviews vary but shown to be solid. Fairly light for what it is. Charge it for a day for one iPhone recharge.

Solio also makes a more efficient (yet slightly heavier by a few ounces) three panel fan shaped charger. Slightly more expensive, but more solar area for a quicker sun charge. Spoken with several people who have used this particular model strapped to the back of their pack the length of the PCT, JMT, CDT, and AT. One said it wasn't much help in parts OR, most of WA, but still worked ok, just not as well as through CA, fwiw. One was sold last month in the Gear Swap as a matter of fact.

Brunton makes two options viable for backcountry use: the heavier, more powerful option weighs just under 16 ounces and can be juiced up primarily by wall socket or car adapter. Said to hold 7-10 recharges for an iPhone. Costs approximately $175.

The smaller Brunton device weighs 5.5 ounces, costs $44, and charges up the same way as the larger Brunton. It holds approximately 3 to 4 complete iPhone recharges. In addition, it can be used in conjuction with a portable solar powered charger ( such as the Solios) to be recharged itself.

Not sure how far or for how long you'd be off the power grid, but a combo of the smaller Brunton along with either Solio would do you alright.

Alot of cool technical jargon being flung about, but the reviews back up the Brunton claims spot on, and they even break it down between iPhone recharges and other device recharges. Even if cloudy, hiking 10 hours will give you more juice than no juice. iPhones have yet to accept AA batteries. :)