Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Two Ounce Pack Frame
Display Avatars Sort By:
Daryl and Daryl
(lyrad1) - MLife

Locale: Pacific Northwest, USA, Earth
Two Ounce Pack Frame on 12/19/2010 09:38:00 MST Print View

I've made about a half dozen backpacks using variations on this basic frame shown below. The parts shown weigh less that two ounces total and are more than strong enough to transfer all of the pack's load to the waist belt.

frame components

The spars are Skyshark 400 carbon fiber. The corners are nylon barbed Ts.

I add padded a waist belt and shoulder pads and a 4000 cubic inch bag made of 1.9 ounce ripstop and come up with a frame pack ranging in weight from about 10 ounces to 1 lb total weight.

I've been using this basic configuration for about 10 years now. I've never had a frame (or bag) failure and have carried up to 40 lbs with it.

Thought the info might be of use to any of you contemplating a diy pack. I can provide more info if you have questions.

Greg Mihalik
(greg23) - M

Locale: Colorado
Re: Two Ounce Pack Frame on 12/19/2010 09:53:21 MST Print View

Barbs-
Go inside the CF? and the CF doesn't split from the internal forces? Interesting.
Who makes them?
Nominal 1/8" OD? Or, What "sizing" number do I look for?

Thanks.

ziff house
(mrultralite) - F
Two Ounce Pack Frame on 12/19/2010 10:17:42 MST Print View

Greg, i machine a small Al collar to stop CF 'split ends'.

Daryl and Daryl
(lyrad1) - MLife

Response to Questions on 12/19/2010 10:18:45 MST Print View

The nylon barbed fittings shown are sold as 3/8" od. I drilled them out so their id matched the od of the spars. The spars go inside the fitting. This is not how the fitting was meant to be used. Normally some type of flexible tubing would be pulled over the outside of the fitting where the barbs are located.