Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Tarp - Tent - Tarp Tent??
Display Avatars Sort By:
Scott Ashdown
(waterloggedwellies) - F

Locale: United Kingdom
Tarp - Tent - Tarp Tent?? on 09/05/2006 08:21:34 MDT Print View

I was just looking at the Tarptent Contrail Spotlite Review. It looks really great for the weight. So far I have been using a Terra Nova Laserlite at about 1100g. I have never used a tarp before, always prefering a tent. However, the Contrail looks appealing at its weight.

My question is, What is the difference between a tarptent and a tent. From what I can see, it looks like the side don't reach the ground as is the case with a tent. Yet conversely, I know that you can pitch a tarp so that the sides are much lower.

What is the difference??? Can someone explain please to a potential tarp newbie!

David Lewis
(davidlewis) - MLife

Locale: Nova Scotia, Canada
Re: Tarp - Tent - Tarp Tent?? on 09/05/2006 16:55:29 MDT Print View

A tent usually refers to a double "walled" shelter... so a inner shell with lots of netting (or all netting) and an outer fly. The TarpTent is single wall. The problem with any single wall shelter is condensation, ventilation and bug protection. TarpTents mitigate that with the attached perimiter netting and the open ends.

Scott Ashdown
(waterloggedwellies) - F

Re: Re: Tarp - Tent - Tarp Tent?? on 09/05/2006 17:32:38 MDT Print View

David, if a tarpt ten has all an all netting interior as the pictures for the Contrail show, then doesn't that just make it a tent, or am I missing something?

Dane Fliedner
(dfliedner) - F

Locale: North Texas
Tarptent vs. Double Walled Tent on 09/05/2006 17:58:32 MDT Print View