Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
August trip in California's White Mountains
Display Avatars Sort By:
Chris Kopp
(ckopp) - F

Locale: SoCal
August trip in California's White Mountains on 11/08/2010 21:52:03 MST Print View

I'm a graduate student and conduct research on historical shifts in vegetation in the White Mountains. In mid-August I took a three day trip to the remote northern part of the range. I left from Barcroft Station and summited White Mountain Peak and then continued north. The traverse north of the peak was pretty sketchy and I now realize why so few people visit the north part of the range.
I had hoped to make it all the way to Boundary Peak on the 2nd day but I was running out of daylight and the traverse over Montgomery Peak looked even sketchier than the one north of Wht Mt. Pk. So I turned back and enjoyed the rest of the trip with the exception of having to make the earlier mentioned traverse on the way back.
All it all, this was one of the coolest trips I've done. 90% is off trail and I saw zero people once I got past Wht. Mt. Pk. Mt Dubois (13,500+) had a peak register that had only 22 signatures for 2010 (13 from one group alone).

View north from White Mountain Peak
View north from White Mountain Peak

Sierra Nevada from White Mountain Peak
Sierra Nevada from White Mountain Peak

Bluebells
Bluebells

This was a scary traverse.
This was a scary traverse

A ribbon of green in a sea of sagebrush.
A ribbon of green in a sea of sagebrush.

Montgomery and Boundary Peaks
Montgomery and Boundary Peaks

Z-Pack Hexamid at 12,000 ft campsite.
Z-Pack Hexamid at 12,000 ft campsite.

Incipient failure at the head of a landslide scarp.  There is going to be a hell of a landslide here
Incipient failure at the head of a landslide scarp. There is going to be a hell of a landslide here.

Frost polygons.
Frost polygons.

Pelissier Flats
Pelissier Flats

Edited by ckopp on 11/08/2010 21:54:54 MST.

David W.