Forum Index » Gear Lists » Winter Gear List (Smokies, 8-10 day trip)

Display Avatars Sort By:
John Wozniak
(woz9683) - F

Locale: Southeast
Winter Gear List (Smokies, 8-10 day trip) on 10/02/2010 10:57:45 MDT Print View

http://www.backpackinglight.com/backpackinglight/forums/gear_lists/51c326c19dc19d3881db8defdf2577ef.pdf

Ok, got my gear list added to my profile. I'm sure it needs some work, so help me out!

Let me give some background so you guys know where I'm coming from. I grew up backpacking, albeit fairly traditional (mainly through scouting). I've got a lot of experience backpacking in the southeast from those days, including some extended trips. Also, quite a few winter trips under my belt through the areas I'm considering now, but shorter trips.

I've been out of the game for a little while, except for some sporadic trips through college. Most of my kit got bequeathed to younger brothers following the same road.

My family never had a great deal of money so my gear was never top of the line growing up. It was always sufficient (barely for the winter stuff), but generally heavier.

I'm on my own now, and I've been rebuilding a kit, with more of an emphasis on lightweight, higher quality stuff. I won't take an extended trip with anything untested, but a lot of stuff won't be extensively tested. I really hope I can get some input from people here.

The trip I specifically have in mind here is a BMT-AT loop (158miles) through the Smokies in late December.

General weight loss ideas would be great, but I've got some specific questions too. All of course within the context of the specific trip mentioned above. So, here goes:

1. Sleep system - VBL for the sleeping bag? yea or nay?