Forum Index » Photography » make my DLSR mountain-ready!

Display Avatars Sort By:
Will Elliott
(elliott.will) - F

Locale: Juneau, AK
make my DLSR mountain-ready! on 08/23/2010 01:20:18 MDT Print View

Hi all.

Nikon D60 with the stock 18-55 lens. I'd like to put on a lens suited to climbing and mountaineering— to me, that means wide angle, physically compact, and economical (both because I'm a poor student, and because eventually everything gets trashed in the mountains anyway).

Already have a cheap polarizing filter and Lowe case for it.

If these constraints seem reasonable, what would you recommend?

Thanks!

Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Locale: Silicon Valley
Re: make my DLSR mountain-ready! on 08/23/2010 02:02:00 MDT Print View

You probably need to travel with a single zoom lens, maybe about 18-200mm. That lens might fit into your existing Lowepro case. Although the 200mm would be a little on the short side for wildlife, it would be a good general purpose lens. Also, you might want to fit in some extra bits of padding into the case to help keep the camera intact.

I hope that your cheap polarizing filter is circularly polarized, which is appropriate for the autofocus system of a digital camera.

--B.G.--

Ben P
(benp1) - F

Locale: London
18-200 on 08/23/2010 02:52:04 MDT Print View

I have one and I like it a lot. Beware that its jack of all trades and master of none, but if you know that then you'll know what to expect

If I go walking with my SLR then it tends to be what I take as I then only need one lens. Its 613g on my scales, think thats about 22oz in old money!

Will Elliott
(elliott.will) - F

Locale: Juneau, AK
shorter on 08/23/2010 11:02:01 MDT Print View

Hi all,