Forum Index » Hiking Partners / Group Trip Announcements » backpacking trip suggetstions around bay area?

Display Avatars Sort By:
Chuck Cheese
(defrag4) - F
backpacking trip suggetstions around bay area? on 07/11/2010 00:39:44 MDT Print View

Me and the gf are planning our first backpacking trip together next weekend. I have been eyeballing Kings Canyon/Sequoia for our trip. Im just learning about the reservation system they have (moved from FL where there was no real need for one) and now I am not sure if we will be able to get a backcountry permit for Paradise Valley which is where I was planning to hike.

I am going to call on Monday and see if tehre is still a chance, but if not I am hoping for a few suggestions, it will be a 2-night 3-day trip, hopefully in the sierras

Ben Crowell
(bcrowell) - F

Locale: Southern California
length? on 07/11/2010 06:52:23 MDT Print View

Hi,

It's a little hard to know what to suggest without knowing info like how many miles you like to hike per day.

If you're having trouble getting a wilderness permit, usually the best solution is to look for an area that sees fewer people. For instance, in Yosemite, the hike from Yosemite Valley to Little Yosemite is extremely popular with people from the Bay Area, and getting a wilderness permit for that is difficult.

In some parks, a certain number of wilderness permits are available on a walk-in basis. If you end up resorting to that, your best bet is to be the first person in line when they open the office in the morning.

-Ben

kevin smith
(divr6347) - M
paradise valley on 07/11/2010 07:22:11 MDT Print View

they do reserve some walk in permits for this hike
so you may be able to show up at the permit office on the day of your trip and score a walk in permit i think the office opens at 7 am so i would try to be first in line
to get one that is a great hike you would really dig it
if you could score a permit
good luck

kevin

David W.
(Davidpcvsamoa) - MLife

Locale: East Bay, CA