Forum Index » Chaff » Maybe I should carry a gun in the backcountry....

Display Avatars Sort By:
Dave U
(FamilyGuy) - F

Locale: Rockies
Maybe I should carry a gun in the backcountry.... on 06/21/2010 19:50:26 MDT Print View

http://www.cbc.ca/canada/british-columbia/story/2010/06/20/bc-grizzly-charge-leon-lorenz.html#socialcomments

Maybe I should carry a gun in the backcountry....

Doug I.
(idester) - MLife

Locale: MidAtlantic
Re: Maybe I should carry a gun in the backcountry.... on 06/21/2010 21:02:37 MDT Print View

Grizzly bear attack kills man near Yellowstone Park

Dave U
(FamilyGuy) - F

Bears on 06/21/2010 22:23:12 MDT Print View

Sad stuff. But Doug, did you watch the video?

Doug I.
(idester) - MLife

Locale: MidAtlantic
Re: Bears on 06/21/2010 22:30:36 MDT Print View

Hey Dave!

I did. Pretty wild stuff. Strange how the bear just suddenly started charging like that out of the blue! And incredibly fast!

I have no experience whatsoever with Grizzlies. Not sure I want any!

Dave U
(FamilyGuy) - F

Bears on 06/21/2010 22:49:04 MDT Print View

Its like it smelled him, didn't quite spot him, and then charged. Always iffy when a mama is with cub

Nate Meinzer
(Rezniem) - F

Locale: San Francisco
Wow on 06/22/2010 02:04:24 MDT Print View

amazing video. Humbling to see how quickly it moved.

Tom Kirchner
(ouzel) - MLife

Locale: Pacific Northwest/Sierra
Re: Wow on 06/22/2010 18:21:28 MDT Print View

"Humbling to see how quickly it moved"

Yup. What I'm wondering is: With 400# of roaring, slavering grizzly closing on you at 40 mph, your adrenaline pumping, and that warm, wet feeling spreading down your leg,
just what do you think your chances of stopping it with that decidedly non UL gun you've been lugging around would be? Personally, I'm looking at a number far to the right of the decimal point.

Mary D
(hikinggranny) - MLife

Locale: Gateway to Columbia River Gorge
Maybe I should carry a gun in the backcountry.... on 06/22/2010 19:02:24 MDT Print View