Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Advice for Neophyte ULer: If you did it all over again?
Display Avatars Sort By:
Scott Truong
(elf773)

Locale: Vancouver, BC
Advice for Neophyte ULer: If you did it all over again? on 06/14/2010 18:23:21 MDT Print View

Hi, I need some advice from you sages/gurus on gear. I"m sure this topic has been asked to death. Nonetheless... please help.

I'm a complete beginner with not much gear and a credit card. I'd like to be like you folks: wander into the wild, foot-loose and fancy fear... responsibly.

I"m reasonably fit. 5'7" 150 lbs, live in Vancouver BC (read: west/wet coast). Although I am going to be camping locally, I have access to cheap flights through work (will go to Rockies, Utah/Arizona, California, Quebec/Maine etc). Winter desert camping interests me. So I'm thinking 3+ seasons. I"m an avid snowboarder, so full winter camping would be something I'd like to try... eventually.

10 lbs base weight is my goal. Though, I'd like to be comfortable and safe...obviously. I'm likely going to attend the 3 day BPL course in July to try out tarp tenting. Although, to be honest I think a tent with full bug protection is more my thing, as much as I value airiness and views (no claustraphobia). Also, just for the sake of versatility, I"m likely looking at a 2 man tent for now. Although suggestions are welcome. I've given hammocking some thought.

I've never used a single wall tent. I currently have a small two man double wall (not sure make). Around 3-4+ lbs.

I"m thinking either the:

Tarptent Double Rainbow

-like its 3+ seasons
-two openings
-relatively light packweight/volume.

or

SMD Lunar Duo

-supposed roominess.
-smaller volume when packed.

However, I don't plan on using poles. Any other suggestions? I"m intrigued by the Cuben Fiber shelters from ZPacks (10 oz for two man tent!)