Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Trailside video photography
Display Avatars Sort By:
Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Locale: Silicon Valley
Trailside video photography on 06/12/2010 16:43:28 MDT Print View

First of all, I have to state that I am a still photographer, and wildlife takes a lot of my time. My first still+video camera is due for delivery within a couple of days, so I expect to be up to the mountains soon for trailside testing.

With UL motives in mind, the audio can be recorded right in with the video, assuming that the camera has a built-in microphone. Or, if there is no built-in, a small shotgun microphone can be plugged in.

However, I am told that the audio front end on a camera like this is pretty poor, and that better audio can be had with an external audio recorder and external microphone. Assuming that I am smart enough to stay away from a "voice" recorder because of limited bandwidth, and assuming that I have a decent-enough recorder with good bandwidth, what other problems am I likely to run into? I already know how to synchronize the video to the audio, and I am already warned to avoid making any movements that will be caught on the microphone.

My favorite subjects are mammals, so as the mammals walk through forest litter, I guess there will be lots of leaf noise, so I'll have to filter that out. Wind noise can be minimized with a dead cat.

--B.G.--

Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Re: Trailside video photography on 06/12/2010 21:25:33 MDT Print View

Note: This is not a dead cat.

Canadian Lynx

--B.G.--

Michael Neal
(michaeltn2) - F

Locale: Northern Virginia
forum on 06/14/2010 12:04:04 MDT Print View