Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
How to Dehydrate Sauce?
Display Avatars Sort By:
Elena Lee
(lenchik101) - F - MLife

Locale: Pacific Northwest (USA)
How to Dehydrate Sauce? on 03/19/2010 16:10:27 MDT Print View

Please help me, how do you dehydrate sauce? I have a food dehydrator circa 1984 and an oven. What's the best way to do it? I've never done this before.

Greg Mihalik
(greg23) - M

Locale: Colorado
Re: How to Dehydrate Sauce? on 03/19/2010 16:20:18 MDT Print View

Do you have non-stick sheets that go on you dryer trays?
If so, spread the sauce to an even thickness and dry it.
If not spread it on parchment paper on the tray. (Test a single tray first to be sure your sauce and your parchment paper release when done.)

When it is dry (brittle when cool) put it in the blender and wizz it once or twice to pulverize the big chuncks. If it truly just sauce, versus a stew or thick soup, wizz it into near-power form. It will re-hydrate almost immediately.

Edited by greg23 on 03/19/2010 16:22:10 MDT.

Scott S
(sschloss1) - F

Locale: New England
Oil and chunky stuff on 03/19/2010 18:11:28 MDT Print View

If your sauce has much oil in it, you'll end up with more of a leather than something dry or crumbly. Those leathers are hard to break up with a blender. But if you freeze the leather then put it in the blender, you'll have better luck. And you don't have to grind the leather into powder--just small pieces.

And if your sauce has chunks of vegetables or meat or whatever, puree it in a blender before you dehydrate. You'll get much more even and rapid drying that way.

Elena Lee
(lenchik101) - F - MLife

drying on 03/22/2010 14:08:06 MDT Print View

Thanks. How would you dry it?

Just leave it out or put in the oven with a low heat on?

Greg Mihalik
(greg23) - M

Locale: Colorado
Re: drying on 03/22/2010 14:25:55 MDT Print View

We have dryer that has a fan in it. Hot air (140°F) moving across the trays takes about 8 hours.