Forum Index » Make Your Own Gear » noob sewing question

Display Avatars Sort By:
George Summers
(jorgoz) - F

Locale: in the flat country of Belgium
noob sewing question on 03/15/2010 03:51:15 MDT Print View

Hello,

Absolute newbie at sewing here and would like some advice.

If there would only be one book you could buy, which one would it be ?

Jeremy Greene
(tippymcstagger) - F

Locale: North Texas
Re: noob sewing question on 03/15/2010 09:31:55 MDT Print View

If you are starting from zero, you might purchase a lesson on basic use of your machine rather than a book. Perhaps try a stuff sack kit or vest kit from Thru-hiker.com and spend some time on his forum and here.

If you are set on a book purchase, Ray Jardine has written a couple that may be worthy of your shelf space.

Edited by tippymcstagger on 04/11/2012 06:35:34 MDT.

James DeMonaco
(jdemonaco) - MLife

Locale: San Francisco
google on 03/15/2010 13:03:55 MDT Print View

there are so many videos on sewing it's crazy! Just google your question or "intro to sewing" or something like that. I used to sew a lot but recently got back into it since visiting this forum and I had forgotten a lot, so I googled my questions as they came up and usually I could get a great video with a beautiful girl teaching me in a soft voice. It's way nicer than when I learned in school! haha

Frank Deland
(rambler) - M

Locale: On the AT in VA
sew your own on 03/17/2010 20:00:31 MDT Print View

Most books on sewing your own have patterns and ideas, but not much instruction on sewing. For most sewing projects, you just need to learn some types of seams that are needed.
Thru-hiker.com is a good source for sewing techniques.

http://thru-hiker.com/projects/french_seams.php

Google "sew your own outdoor gear" for other titles and book reviews.

Edited by rambler on 03/17/2010 20:03:09 MDT.

Bob Gross
(--B.G.--) - F

Locale: Silicon Valley
sewing for a noob on 03/18/2010 01:10:38 MDT Print View