Forum Index » General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion » backpacking with dogs

Display Avatars Sort By:
Backpack Jack
(jumpbackjack) - F - M

Locale: Armpit of California
backpacking with dogs on 05/21/2009 22:48:46 MDT Print View

I've been backpacking for about 7 years now and I'm ready to get a dog to go with me. I have friends and a daughter that go with me most of the time. I need something that is good with people on the trail and doesn't take off chasing wild life. Needs to be a good dog for around the house also. I was thinking maybe a lab,but I've had one in the past and there nose leads them astray. Thinking border collie but don't know if I have that much time to keep them occupied since I work 1 full time job and 1 part time job, any other breeds that might work? Thanks Jack

Edited by jumpbackjack on 05/21/2009 22:51:16 MDT.

. .
(biointegra) - MLife

Locale: Puget Sound
Re: backpacking with dogs on 05/21/2009 22:57:42 MDT Print View

Australian Cow Dog

Dave T
(DaveT) - F
dogs. on 05/22/2009 00:38:36 MDT Print View

hi jack.

there have been some threads about dogs for the trail. use the "search forums" options on "dog" and see what you can find.

for example:
http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=6869&disable_pagination=1

cheers!

Elliott Non-Disclosed
(Snowboarda42) - F
no cattle dog on 05/24/2009 08:33:29 MDT Print View

I'd stay away from Aussie Cow/Cattle Dogs since they're just as active and need stimulation as a border collie.

I good cattle dog is a tired cattle dog.
Roo

Backpack Jack
(jumpbackjack) - F - M

backpacking with dogs on 05/26/2009 08:50:49 MDT Print View

Thanks for all the info. After this weekend hike my daughter and I are really wanting a hiking partner (dog)to go with us, still looking. I think we may go to our local shelter and see if we can save a dog.

Zack Karas
(iwillchopyou@hotmail.com) - MLife

Locale: Lake Tahoe