Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Bag for a Newbie
Display Avatars Sort By:
Ken Charpie
(kencharpie) - MLife

Locale: Western Oregon
Bag for a Newbie on 05/10/2009 05:50:03 MDT Print View

I'm new to light/ultralight backpacking (and backpacking in general, really). I'm looking to put together my first set of gear and trying to keep my cost down.

The hardest decision is choosing a bag. I'm ultra-paranoid about water (bad experiences with gear in the army) and I live in the pacific northwest; planning to do most of my hiking in the cool, humid, wet Cascades. I was thinking synthetic due to cost and weather/inexperience. I'd like to keep weight down as low as possible (2 lbs-ish), but still get as close to 3 seasons as I can.

I was thinking about the marmot pounder plus, but the more I read about bags, the more overwhelmed I feel. I would appreciate any and all feedback regarding this decision. As I said before, cost is a big consideration.

Thanks in advance from the newbie!

Ken Charpie
(kencharpie) - MLife

cost consideration on 05/10/2009 05:59:49 MDT Print View

I should also have mentioned that I'm shooting for the $200-ish mark on the price range. Lower if at all possible.

James Castleberry
(Winterland76)
Lightweight Synthetic bag on 05/10/2009 08:25:35 MDT Print View

I haven't used this product, but you might want to check out the Ray Jardine quilt kit. It is $75.00 and has an alpine upgrade for $10. If you have a mom, aunt, or grandma nearby, maybe she can do whatever sewing is needed.
http://www.rayjardine.com
Seriously consider a quilt.
For lightweight budget shelter, consider Ozark Trail Jr. Dome if you are 6 ft or under. It's $20 at WalMart and weighs about two pounds. Just make sure you seal all the seams.
As a newbie myself, I found the podcasts at practicalbacking.com to be very helpful.

Heather Werderman
(willowbrezo) - F - M
North Face Cat's Meow on 05/10/2009 08:34:27 MDT Print View