Forum Index » GEAR » Lightweight Gear for NZ conditions

Display Avatars Sort By:
Jason Elsworth
(jephoto) - M

Locale: New Zealand
Nelson Lakes on 05/05/2009 02:49:58 MDT Print View

Firstly, let me say that I am not experienced in snow/mountaineering. You should be able to find some good info here though. I also vaguely remember a book being written on light-weight alpinism. Also have you seen http://www.iclimb.co.nz/ and http://www.mountainz.co.nz/content/article/article.php?article=120405_bivouac.php&direct=nz.

From a quick look a your list I noted the following:

- It certainly doesn't seem all that heavy to me for the conditions.
- To save much weight you would probably have to spend $$$ on a new sleeping bag, pack and waterproofs. As Lynn says this will probably mean sourcing from off shore.
- 1 L Naglene is heavy as is Camelback
- Is the 265g thermal liner really the best way to add extra warmth to your bag. You can get down/synthetic jackets at that weight.
- Pack liner is heavy.
- 2 insulation jackets. I am presuming one is used as a belay jacket and one worn in your sleeping bag? Could be a better approach here?
-May be able to switch the driclime windshirt for an unlined wind shirt?

I am off to the Nelson Lakes in 10 days and was hoping to do the Travers-Sabine. Was there a lot of snow on the Travers saddle? If so I think I will need to re-think my route and will probably just go up to Blue lake/ Lake Constance and back this time.

Lynn Tramper
(retropump) - F

Locale: The Antipodes of La Coruna
Re: Lightweight Gear for NZ conditions" on 05/05/2009 14:11:40 MDT Print View