Forum Index » Make Your Own Gear » Beer Can Stove Questions

Display Avatars Sort By:
Dennis Hiorns
(hanson)

Locale: Michigan
Beer Can Stove Questions on 01/02/2009 08:14:42 MST Print View

Hello all,

I just built my first beer can stove and it seems to work well (although, I've never used one before this). It brought 16oz of tap water to a roiling boil in 6 minutes in 25-30 degree weather, then burned another 3 minutes with 1 oz of Heet. It weighs .25 oz, and the windscreen/pot support is another .5 oz.

It seems this is fine for boiling water, but what if we catch a fish or two? Has anyone cooked (rather than boiled water) with an alcohol stove? Particularly a beer can stove?

This is the one I built...
http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/make_your_own_gear_open_jet_alcohol_stove.html

Thanks for your comments/suggestions...

Denis Hazlewood
(redleader) - MLife

Locale: Luxury-Light Luke on the Llano Azul
Re: Beer Can Stove Questions on 01/02/2009 13:55:07 MST Print View

One of the easiest methods of cooking fish is to poach them. I cut the fish into sections that will fit in my pot and use only a little water. You must keep gently "stirring" them about to cook them properly.

I haven't used an alcohol stove to do this but you might try it. I don't really think that alcohol stoves are meant to do much more than boil water. They require a very efficient wind screen to work effectively.

Kyle Purcell
(dufus934) - F

Locale: North Texas
Don't see why not on 01/05/2009 11:12:25 MST Print View

I don't see why this wouldn't work. As long as you didn't need much time to cook it. Sounds like you would have about 10 min of cook time with the 1 oz of fuel. That should be enough time to get it cooked. Of course, you could always give it a try at home before you do it on the trail.

Denis Hazlewood
(redleader) - MLife

Re: Beer Can Stove Questions on 01/05/2009 11:45:19 MST Print View

How much alcohol will your stove hold?

Dennis Hiorns
(hanson)