Forum Index » GEAR » Frameless vs. Light Frame Packs for 20-25lbs

Display Avatars Sort By:
Mark Seeley
(mseeley) - F

Locale: Arizona
Frameless vs. Light Frame Packs for 20-25lbs on 01/01/2009 10:52:23 MST Print View

I am new to UL backpacking and would like to get people's thoughts and opinions on the pros/cons of UL frameless rucksacks versus lightweight frame packs (i.e. Granite Gear Vapor Trail, Osprey Exos, etc.) for total pack loads of ~20 lbs – ~25 lbs. To my way of thinking (and based on some limited experience), it seems to me that at these load levels, the extra 1lb – 1.5 lbs of the frames is more than made up for in the additional back/shoulder support. I understand there are a number of variables that can play into this (number of days on trail, miles per day, terrain, etc.), but it seems to me that, unlike other gear, the extra weight of the frames is not “dead” weight, but is actually contributing to a perceived lighter load and greater back support over the hiking day. Thoughts?

Ben 2 World
(ben2world) - MLife

Locale: So Cal
Re: Frameless vs. Light Frame Packs for 20-25lbs on 01/01/2009 11:12:30 MST Print View

Hi Mark:

My own thoughts -- while satisfying safety requirements and balancing out creature comforts and all -- to the extent we can keep our pack weights below 25lbs -- a frameless pack can make sense. While a framed pack will still carry more comfortably, the point is that at a lower load weight, a frameless can carry "comfortably enough" -- so then, why not save another 1.5 lbs? And if total pack weight is kept to a comfortably low range, one can also replace heavier, traditional boots with trail runners -- resulting in even more weight savings. And that's good news for your shoulders, back, hips, legs, ankles and feet.