Southern California backpacking suggestions
Display Avatars Sort By:
Jeff Antig
(Antig)

Locale: Pacific Northwest
Southern California backpacking suggestions on 01/01/2009 02:41:22 MST Print View

Hi, very much like the person of the other thread, I am also looking for some good backpacking locations.

I am in the Southern California area and don't mind driving an hour or so. I've heard that San Jacinto is pretty good but I don't know how reliable that source was. I'm new to backpacking so I need help picking a place that is not too intense. Also, preferably a place that is not full of car campers.

Thank you all in advance.

Jeff Antig
(Antig)

Update on 01/02/2009 16:01:13 MST Print View

I decided to go to Crystal Cove (camping, not cottages) and Mt. Jacinto in the Idyllwild campgrounds. For some reason, I couldn't find anything about Crystal Cove so I'm starting to worry that I've made a bad decision. Has anyone been there before?

I'm also considering Silverwood Lake and some areas around Joshua Tree. If there are any great places for backpacking specifically (without car campers), please let me know!

Ken Thompson
(kthompson) - MLife

Locale: Behind the Redwood Curtain
Southern California backpacking suggestions on 01/02/2009 17:33:19 MST Print View

San Gorgonio Wilderness is awesome. Near to where you are going to be. I recommend any trailhead other than Vivian Creek. I like it back at Quaking Aspen trailhead up to Big tree campground. Maybe a lot of snow now,but worth a look.

Anthony Weston
(anthonyweston) - MLife

Locale: Southern CA
where to backpack in so ca on 01/02/2009 18:23:19 MST Print View

look on www[dot]outdoorsclub[dot]org
for hundreds of trip suggestions in the southern Ca
area. Many pictures of San Jacinto and Mount Gorgornio and much much more.

If you are new to backpacking I'd avoid the snow and try a