Forum Index » General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion » Just getting started

Display Avatars Sort By:
Mark Jennings
(bigjenz) - F
Just getting started on 01/15/2005 07:53:22 MST Print View

I am just getting started in lightweight backpacking. what would be the best thing to replace first? Keep in mind the only thing I have lightweight is a sleeping bag (1.5lbs.)Thanks.

Mark Verber
(verber) - MLife

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area
Getting starting going light-weight on 01/15/2005 09:11:18 MST Print View

I would suggest the first thing to go light-weight is not changing an item, but doing a good inventory and seeing if you are bringing things that you don't need. I know I used to bring extra clothing that I never needed to use, more fuel and food than I ever eat, etc. While doing this ask yourself if there are items you currently own than are lighter than what you are taking. For example I switched for a heavy "camping" knife to the tiny swiss army knife I carry day-to-day and saved almost 1/2 a pound.

Once you have done this I would start looking at what equipment to change. Since you have a light weight bag (which would have been my first choice) I would look at lightening your shelter. If you are mostly backpacking in warm weather below treeline I would give a Hennessy Hammock a try. For three-season conditions would suggest one of Henry's Tarptents is a great way to get started. There are lighter shelters, but the tarptents are really easy to use. If you are likey to face harsh conditions I would suggest the Integral Designs MK1lite eVENT if you have the money, or a Hilleberg Akto (solo) Nallo-2 (two people).

Ken Helwig
(kennyhel77) - MLife

Locale: Scotts Valley CA via San Jose, CA
just getting started on 01/15/2005 09:50:16 MST Print View