Need a synthetic bag ASAP. 5 - 10 degrees.
Display Avatars Sort By:
E. H. Clemmons
(sclemmons) - MLife
Need a synthetic bag ASAP. 5 - 10 degrees. on 05/06/2008 19:49:31 MDT Print View

For a NOLS Rocky Mountain course this summer. Synthetic is required for use over 60 - 70 nights under a tarp-like setup at high altitude. NOLS asks for 5 - 10 degrees, 6" to 8" of loft, 3 pounds of synthetic fill.

I understand why they require you to have this specific setup compared to a down bag. But I have no experience with this kind of bag. I have never done a high altitude multi week trip like this. What is the smart light synthetic setup? Mountain Hardware Lamina? Integral Designs North Twin? Big Agnes Yellow Wall or Savery? Or some other bag?

I need to decide and get this bag in here ASAP. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. If you have personal favorite, a bag you have your eye on, or a second hand bag to get me by, let me know.

John Gilbert
(JohnG10) - F

Locale: Mid-Atlantic
Synthetic Bag on 05/07/2008 09:09:57 MDT Print View

I'd get something with Climashield XP. It's almost as warm per pound (highest CLO value) as Primaloft One (PLO), and warmer per pound than than Primaloft Sport (PLS). But XP will be more durable (retains loft) better than both PLO and PLS after stuffing it into a stuff sack 2.5 months in a row. And, XP doesn't need to be quilted to scrim to stabilize it like the 2 Primalofts do - so total bag weight is often about the same for XP as PLO.

On the other hand, Primaloft is a short staple insulation, whereas XP is a continuous fiber, so PL stuffs to a smaller size and this could be critical if you are carrying all the NOLS food, gourmet cooking setup, books, etc. PLO also drapes a bit more (is less stiff) than XP, but XP is no worse than 3-D was.