Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
mummy sleeping bag...center zip?
Display Avatars Sort By:
Alex Heesch
(heescha) - F
mummy sleeping bag...center zip? on 04/14/2008 09:17:23 MDT Print View

ok, i have a military surplus intermediate mummy sleeping bag and i love that thing so much!-my home away from home!

but, the darn thing is heavy, big, and bulky!!!

so, does anyone know of a mummy sleeping bag for a decent price...THAT HAS A CENTER ZIPPER! i want a center zipper just like my old sleeping bag...can anyone help me out?

Brian Markey
(bmlaw) - MLife

Locale: Northeast
Feathered friends on 04/14/2008 09:24:14 MDT Print View

The feathered friends rock wren has a center zipper. I have no experience with it, however. See it here: http://www.featheredfriends.com/Picasso/Bags/Specialty.html

John Gilbert
(JohnG10) - F

Locale: Mid-Atlantic
Center Zip Mummy on 04/14/2008 09:26:34 MDT Print View

Here's one solution to "big, bulky & heavy".

http://www.nunatakusa.com/site07/other_bags/alpinist.htm

I'm not sure it's what you'd call "reasonably priced", but the reviews of this manufacturers quilts & bags all seem to say what great quality and performance they have...

ps: Their ARC quilts are even more convenient than center zip bags if you don't thrash around in your sleep and cause drafts (or if you use a bivy to prevent the drafts).

Alex Heesch
(heescha) - F
heres the deal on 04/14/2008 09:40:39 MDT Print View

well, first of all, i use a hennessy hammock...if that matters much.

and secondly and most importantly...i'm an 18 year old kid headed off to college (yeah, sob story) and i have next to nothing for money already...i bought that military surplus bag for $30! i would need one heck of a deal on a used one! maybe i'll just have to suck it up, get a compression bag and carry it?

Steven Evans
(Steve_Evans) - MLife

Locale: Canada
Re: Center Zip Mummy on 04/14/2008 10:17:47 MDT Print View

Go-lite makes center zips aswell.