Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
Evaluate my tarp idea?
Display Avatars Sort By:
Jane McMichen
(jmcmichen) - F

Locale: Maine, DownEast Coast
Evaluate my tarp idea? on 04/02/2008 10:59:03 MDT Print View

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie at MYOG so I've been reading everything I can find on these threads and trying to use the Forum Search for specific questions. I can't answer this one on my own, though.

I have an idea for a more versitile flat tarp basically by adding tie out loops on the body. It would look something like this, with the "X" marking tie outs.
tarp idea

I know it can't be a new idea, but I don't see anybody making them. My thought was to use a 7' x 7'piece of silnylon or goretex with grosgrain ribbon edging. I can put grosgrain loops built into the ribbon on the edges, but would that be good enough on the body? I know there must be a support piece sewn under each body tie out and everything must be seam sealed.

This idea seems to give me loads of flexability in setup - an A frame for solo, lean to with porch for friends in good weather, pyramid for two with one corner as vestibule in rain, etc. ad nauseum. Besides the weight difference of the extra tie outs, are there other reasons that you seasoned hikers don't use a tarp like this?

Are there ways to do these things with a tarp and not have the extra tie outs? I don't like having a pole in the tarp with me, but maybe I don't know enough about pitching tarps to see the possibilities.

Kyle Purcell
(dufus934) - F

Locale: North Texas
Funny how things work on 04/02/2008 11:17:09 MDT Print View

This is actually one idea that I have been considering making. Due to laziness, fear (of there being something better), and some procrastination, I have not started my tarp yet. However, to answer your question, this tarp will work great and be very versitle. Just make sure you have all the details worked out and the measurments right.

David Olsen
(oware)