The Carbon Flame War
Display Avatars Sort By:
Ashley Brown
(ashleyb) - F
Re: Re: A second quibble on 05/08/2009 01:50:12 MDT Print View

As a scientist myself I find it a bit of an insult to the profession to suggest that there are so many of us (nearly all, apparently) who are willing to ignore the truth when it challenges the status quo. Scientists are not terribly interested in money, or they would be in business making a lot more of it. They are not interested in "staying on message" if they do not believe the message is true.

Politicians are another matter.

But whilst the vast majority of climate scientists argue in favour of man made global warming I will believe them. Not some guy on BPL. Sorry ;-)

ps. I really must stop reading and responding to this thread... it's in Chaff for a reason!

Edited by ashleyb on 05/08/2009 01:57:46 MDT.

Nate Meinzer
(Rezniem) - F

Locale: San Francisco
You're really out in the deep end.... on 05/08/2009 02:15:19 MDT Print View

"Obama is relying on carbon tax revenue to rescue the US economy."

There is no carbon tax as of yet. If the economy does not recover, it is universally regarded as a COMPLETE non-starter.

Bottom line is this:

There is a scientific consensus that carbon emissions are causing global warming, as well as causing countless other known and unknown environmental problems.

If you are right, then carbon emissions are causing countless other known and other unknown environmental problems, just not warming.

Everyone agrees that emissions are bad for the environment (warming aside) and unhealthy for the population. We cannot sustain our current level of burning fossil fuels both because a) we will run out and b) they are harming our natural resources (warming, again, aside).

So this whole argument is just really an exercise in inanity, and your focus on sea levels and warming is a red herring that distracts from the much more looming problem--our dependence of fossil fuels is untenable.