Subscribe Contribute Advertise Facebook Twitter Instagram Forums Newsletter
The Carbon Flame War
Display Avatars Sort By:
Lynn Tramper
(retropump) - F

Locale: The Antipodes of La Coruna
Rainfall on 11/04/2010 16:22:38 MDT Print View

It can also be measured in fathoms. as my favourite South Island rainfall image does:

Rainfall, main divide

I live on the right side of the graph, but a hike a lot towards the left side too :(

Edited by retropump on 11/04/2010 16:23:49 MDT.

George Matthews
(gmatthews) - MLife
Re: Rainfall on 11/04/2010 20:05:25 MDT Print View

Does it rain beer on left or right?

Great graph.

Rog Tallbloke
(tallbloke) - F

Locale: DON'T LOOK DOWN!!
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Yorkshire on 11/05/2010 07:11:23 MDT Print View

Nick, I prefer imperial measures too, but being a trained engineer I use both systems interchangeably.

Phew, hot and dry near you then. Too much for me, I wouldn't fancy getting stoned in that heat. ;-)

Lynn, love that graph!

Edited by tallbloke on 11/05/2010 07:16:22 MDT.

Nick Gatel
(ngatel) - MLife

Locale: Southern California
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Yorkshire on 11/05/2010 09:39:32 MDT Print View

Rog,

Inches vs millimeters... back in the 70's I was a mechanic. All my tools were Imperial. Then with the influx of Japanese cars, I had to purchase a duplicate set of metric tools. Metric is pretty much universal today. I can work with either type of fastener without mentally doing a conversion. The metric pitch of fastener threads does make much more sense to me.

When dealing with liquid capacities I have to mentally do a conversion. Fortunately a quart is close to a liter. And you have to admit that a "beer barrel" and a "hogshead" are pretty cool measures.

When it comes to weights I can't deal with it. I have to use a conversion tool.